Flavor of the Week: Halloween

This post is dedicated to my grandma, who loved Halloween... wish you were still here to ride around on a broom with me, Gee!!!

This is based on me and my grandma, we used to ride around on a broom together

I mean it when I say that Halloween is the flavor of the whole effin’ week, not just the day it claims on the calendar. We all know that Halloween is a weekly process, and whoever thought that it solely encompasses a single day is incorrect on a graded scale of “Incorrect” to “So Enthused About Halloween That My Costume Is More Original Than A School Girl Or A Bunny This Year.”

I love Halloween because I’m a fan of all things spooky, creepy, weird, and dark. According to Cady Heron,

But according to me, Halloween is the one day I can wear all black and people will stop asking me if I’m headed over to pay a shiva call. Leave me, my boyfriend jeans, and my high top black Converse alone, puh-lease.

Halloween brings about many fond memories: middle school parties that left me crying, going to the wealthy neighborhoods to get pounds of chocolate, being able to play a socially acceptable form of dress up, having people ask me if they could borrow my real clothes as pieces for their costume, crying again because I was disappointed my night didn’t end up like Cinderella’s (not that Cinderella takes place on Halloween, just the whole pumpkin thing gets me), and broken dreams upon realization that I am not the perfect girl–a combination of Hermoine Granger and Marnie from Halloweentown

The FYD takes a walk down memory lane of what Halloween was like pre-Halloweek and pre-fro-yo (ice cream was still considered a “thing”)…

Me starring in "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" as "The Pumpkin"

Me starring in “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” as “The Pumpkin”

A jester, not my most creative look

A jester. Mom, we could’ve done better that year.

This may or may not have been taken for Halloween... I don't know, I liked to dress up as a cow girl a LOT apparently

This may or may not have been taken for Halloween… I don’t know, I liked to dress up as a cow girl a LOT apparently

This was when I went through that phase where I was OBSESSED with the fact that I had the same initials as Harry Potter, as you can probably tell by my whole "look"

This was when I went through that phase where I was OBSESSED with the fact that I have the same initials as Harry Potter, as you can probably tell by my whole “look”

Haha lol

Haha lol

Lastly, me dressing up as a Real Housewife of New York City

Lastly, me dressing up as a Real Housewife of New York City

Happy Halloween! Eat fro-yo, not candy! (JK LOL, eat candy. Lots of it.)



Thoughts?

